top of page

Le Graham Academy

Gary-White-G-2-744x750.jpg

To visit the Graham Academy website, click here:

Rainbow Image (3).png

Graham Academy, la division d'entraînement des arts de spectacle de Gros Morne Summer Music (GMSM), a été fondu en 2016. Les nouveaux programmes et possibilités sont introduits chaque année, Graham Academy a été introduit pour établir et soutenir l'héritage d'excellence musicale à Corner Brook développé par le président de Gros Morne Summer Music, Dr Gary Graham.

Graham Academy, une initiative de Gros Morne Summer Music (GMSM), est fier d'être fondé sur l'histoire riche du travail du Dr Gary Graham à Corner Brook. Le nom et l'esprit de Graham Academy est inspiré par Gary Graham, le directeur de Graham Academy depuis 2007 jusqu'à son décès en juin 2019, et récipiendaire de l'Ordre du Canada et un Doctorat Honorifique d'Université Memorial pour l'excellence en éducation de musique et le service à la vie aux arts. Chaque initiative de Graham Academie célèbre et soutient la continuation d'un unique aspect des plus que quarante ans d'enseignement du Dr Graham à Corner Brook.

NOTRE RÉSIDENCE

Situé à 110 Humber road derrière L'école Immaculate Heart of Mary, ce beau bâtiment historique devenait un centre de musique, les arts et l'amitié pour les générations à venir.

NOTRE COMITÉ

Graham Academy, conduit par le Comité Graham Academy; est un comité opérationnel de Gros Morne Summer Music (GMSM). C'est responsable des réunions du conseil d'administration et pour le Directeur Artistique de GMSM. Maintenir le mandat de GMSM est le mandat du comité, de fournir l'excellence dans l'éducation de musique avec nombreux aspects des arts de spectacle. Les décisions du programme Graham Academy sont fait par le Comité Graham Academy en consultation de la faculté et employés, par la considération des réactions des membres. Les Codirecteurs facilitent toutes les décisions et assurent que les décisions sont en accord du mandat de Gros Morne Summer Music et Graham Academy.

NOS PRINCIPES DIRECTEURS

DÉCLARATION DE MISSION

Graham Academy offre aux jeunes à Terre Neuve accessible entraînement des arts de spectacle, les possibilités d'interprétation dans un environnement stimulant avec un esprit communautaire, aux jeunes à Terre Neuve. Au moyen d'un vaste éventail des programmes des arts de spectacles de haute qualité, nous visons d'améliorer les vies des membres de notre communauté avec la participation et la promotion des arts de spectacle.

DÉCLARATION DE VISION

De construire une meilleure communauté en fournissant le développement artistique signifiant, accessible et inspirant pour les jeunes. D'avoir les possibilités dans les arts de spectacle dans un environnement d'esprit communautaire.

OBJECTIF

Le travail de Graham Academy est toujours guidé par son homonyme, Gary Graham et son dévouement au développement des jeunes au moyen des arts, son dévouement a notre communauté, sa compassion et son appui pour ceux qui sont dans le besoin et sa motivation d'excellence. En développer et s'exécuter les possibilités des arts de spectacle pour les jeunes d'ouest de Terre Neuve et Labrador. Graham academy reconnaît que les arts de spectacle donnent aux jeunes les dons nécessaires pour mûrir est d'exceller dans nombreux aspects de la vie.

LES PRINCIPES INFLUENT

Nous croyons que les arts ont un effet profond sur le développement des enfants, la vitalité de notre communauté et la qualité de nos vies.

Les programmes des jeunes de Graham Academy sont consacrés à développer les compétences dans de nombreux aspects des arts de spectacle. Cela inclut mais n'est pas limité aux occasions d'interprétation de théâtre musicale et de chorale.

Les jeunes qui participent sont offerts l'autonomisation, la confiance, la créativité et la connexion avec leur communauté.

Les membres de la famille de GMSM cherchent les possibilités qui soutiennent le développement des jeunes au moyen de travailler et apprendre avec les artistes professionnels engagés dans les activités de GMSM quand c'est possible.

ASPIRATIONS

  • De fournir une atmosphère professionnelle, où l'excellence a de valeur, l'étiquette polit est pratiqué et il y a du respect pour tous les aspects de production.

  • De fournir les occasions dans laquelle les jeunes adoptent les responsabilités, comprennent leur valeur comme membre d'un ensemble, développent leur talent individuel et appliquent les nécessaires compétences sociales en coopération dans la collaboration du théâtre.

  • D'améliorer la reconnaissance des arts de spectacle dans notre communauté.

  • D'augmenter la participation des jeunes, avec une concentration sur les communautés mal desservies, dans les arts de spectacle.

  • d'encourager les organisations artistiques dans notre communauté et région qui ont le même état d'esprit, conduisant vers un plus grand éventail des arts viables pour tous.

  • De fournir les cours, les concerts, les ateliers et les possibilités d'interprétation pour les jeunes artistes.

  • De fournir une transition entre les artistes professionnels à ceux qui ambitionnent de devenir les artistes professionnels..

  • De créer un environnement qui encourage la collaboration entre les disciplines des arts de spectacles.

  • De cultiver le développement artistique des étudiants au moyen d'une variété de possibilités éducatives. Cela inclut les cours hebdomadaires, les ateliers, les séminaires, les cours de maître et les possibilités d'interprétation. 

  • De promouvoir la sensibilisation et la reconnaissance du public au sujet des arts de spectacle et l'éducation artistique.

  • D'inspirer et encourager l'expression de soi artistique et de créer l'estime de soi pour les jeunes de notre communauté.

  • De cultiver une reconnaissance profonde des arts de spectacle dans chaque participant et spectateur.

DÉCLARATION D'INCLUSION

Graham Academy commémore la diversité d'expression, la vie et

l'amour et soutenir les jeunes d'être leur meilleur moi!

HISTOIRE DE GRAHAM ACADEMY

Graham Academy a été établi en septembre 2016 par Gros Morne Summer Music (GMSM) en collaboration avec le Dr Gary Graham, pour soutenir et continuer l'héritage d'excellence musicale à Corner Brook qui a été développé pendant la vie du Dr Gary Graham.

Graham Academy est fier d'être basés sur l'histoire riche du travail du Dr Gary Graham à Corner Brook. Le nom et l'esprit de Graham Academy est inspiré par Gary Graham, le directeur de Graham Academy depuis 2007 jusqu'à son décès en juin 2019, et récipiendaire de l'Ordre du Canada et un Doctorat Honorifique d'Université Memorial pour l'excellence en éducation de musique et le service à la vie aux arts. Chaque initiative de Graham Academie célèbre et soutient la continuation d'un unique aspect des plus que quarante ans d'enseignement du Dr Graham à Corner Brook.

CE QUE LES MEMBRES ONT DIT

Layla c'est vraiment S'ÉPANOUIT comme artiste à l'âge de cinq ans (presque 6 ans)! Chaque fois que je la vois sur la scène je suis épaté et je suis tellement reconnaissante qu'elle à l'occasion d'explorer ces passions et d'apprécier la famille de théâtre musicale.

     -Nancy Buckle, La mère de Layla

NOTRE LOGO

 

Quand nous avons débattu le correct logo pour

Graham Academy nous voulions quelque chose qui

représenterait l'origine de l'organisation. Pour beaucoup

d'entre nous, qui participaient aux chorales ou ceux qui ont

pris les cours particuliers avec Gary, son écriture sur le

tableau noir ou dans les livres de dictées était distinct,

terrifiant, et attachant. Beaucoup de jeunes étudiants

peuvent être entendus faire référence à M. Graham comme

"M. G", ou affectueusement adresse lui simplement comme

"G" quand ils atteignent l'âge adulte. En considérant tous ces aspects, nous avons choisi un logo dans laquelle le centre est "M. G" ou "G". Quelle meilleure façon de marquer l'académie dédiée de son histoire et d'inspirer les générations future qu'avec l'écriture d'homme lui-même?

Andrea Barrett s'est faufilée dans une leçon de piano et a demandé à demander M. Graham d'écrire les mots GRAHAM ACADEMY et plusieurs "G" et nous les avons envoyés à notre graphiste Jeremy Osmond de J. Osmond Design.Jeremy a converti l'écriture à plusieurs images graphiques que nous avons débattus au cours d'un mois.

NOTRE SITE WEB

Pour l'information additionnelle, s'il vous plaît visitez notre site web.

Rainbow-Logo-250x250.jpg
GA_Logo-2-741x750.jpg
bottom of page

Graham Academy

Graham Academy, the performance arts training division of Gros Morne Summer Music (GMSM), was founded in 2016. With new programs and opportunities being introduced each year, Graham Academy was established to support and perpetuate the legacy of musical excellence in Corner Brook as developed by the Chair of Gros Morne Summer Music, Dr. Gary Graham.

The Graham Academy, an initiative of Gros Morne Summer Music (GMSM), is proud to be founded based upon the rich history of Dr. Gary Graham’s work here in Corner Brook.  The Graham Academy gets its name and spirit from Gary Graham, the chair of Gros Morne Summer Music from 2007 until his passing in June 2019, and the recipient of both the Order of Newfoundland and an Honorary Doctorate from Memorial University for excellence in music education and lifelong service to the arts.  Each initiative of the Graham Academy celebrates and supports the continuation of a different aspect of over forty years of Dr. Graham’s teaching here in Corner Brook.

OUR HOME

Located at 110 Humber Road just behind Immaculate Heart of Mary School, this beautiful historic building has become home to music and art, friendship and laughter for generations to come.

OUR COMMITTEE

The Graham Academy, led by The Graham Academy Committee; is a standing operational committee of Gros Morne Summer Music (GMSM). It is responsible to the Board of Directors; reporting to the monthly GMSM Board meetings, and to the GMSM Artistic Director. The Committee’s mandate is to uphold the mandate of Graham Academy, which is to provide excellence in music education with a focus on the different aspects of performance arts. Graham Academy program decisions will be made by the Graham Academy Committee in consultation with faculty and staff through consideration of feedback received from members. The co-chairs will facilitate all decisions and ensure that they are in line with the mandate of The Graham Academy and Gros Morne Summer Music.

OUR GUIDING PRINCIPLES

MISSION STATEMENT

The Graham Academy offers youth in Newfoundland and Labrador accessible, performing arts training and performance opportunities in a nurturing, community-minded environment, through a broad range of high-quality performing arts activities aimed to improving the quality of life for our community through the participation in and promotion of the performing arts.

VISION STATEMENT

To build a better community by providing meaningful and inspiring artistic development for youth through accessible youth performing arts opportunities in a nurturing, community minded environment.

PURPOSE

Graham Academy’s good work is forever guided by its namesake, Gary Graham, and his lifelong dedication to youth development through the arts, his commitment to our community, his compassion and support for those in need and his drive for excellence. In developing and delivering performing arts opportunities to youth in Western Newfoundland and Labrador, The Graham Academy recognizes that performing arts teach young people the skills needed to grow, learn and excel in all aspects of their lives.

GUIDING VALUES

We believe exposure to the arts has a profound effect on the development of a child, the vitality of our community and the quality of our world.

Graham Academy’s youth programming is committed to develop skills in a variety of performing arts disciplines including but not limited to choral and musical theatre and through performance opportunities.

Through these opportunities young people are empowered to be confident, creative and to connect with their community.

As a proud member of the Gros Morne Summer Music family, the Graham Academy seeks opportunities to support youth development by working with and learning from, professional artists engaged in activities with GMSM where possible.

GOALS

  • To provide a professional atmosphere where excellence is valued, positive performance etiquette is practiced, and respect for all areas of production is insisted upon.

  • To provide opportunities for youth to assume responsibilities, appreciate their value as a member of an ensemble, develop their individual talents and apply cooperative social skills needed to collaborate in the theatre.

  • To enhance appreciation of the performing arts in our community.

  • To increase the participation of youth representing diverse and underserved populations of our community in performing arts.

  • To support like-minded arts organizations within the community and region, resulting in a broader array of sustainable arts offerings to all.

  • To provide classes, concerts, workshops, and performance opportunities for aspiring young artists.

  • To provide a bridge between leading professional artists and aspiring young artists.

  • To create an environment which encourages collaboration between different disciplines of performing arts.

  • To cultivate the artistic development of students through a variety of educational opportunities, such as offering weekly training, workshops, seminars, master classes and performance opportunities.

  • Promoting public awareness and appreciation of the performing arts and arts education and training.

  • Inspire and encourage creative self-expression and build self-esteem within the youth of our community.

  • To cultivate a deeper appreciation of the performing arts within all participants and spectators.

INCLUSION STATEMENT

Graham Academy celebrates diversity of expression, loving and living, and supporting youth in being their best selves!

HISTORY OF GRAHAM ACADEMY

The Graham Academy was established in September 2016 by Gros Morne Summer Music (GMSM) in collaboration with Dr. Gary Graham, to support and perpetuate the legacy of musical excellence in Corner Brook as developed throughout the lifetime of Dr. Gary Graham.

The Graham Academy is proud to be founded based upon the rich history of Dr. Gary Graham’s work here in Corner Brook. The Graham Academy gets its name and spirit from Gary Graham, the chair of Gros Morne Summer Music from 2007 – 2019, and the recipient of both the Order of Newfoundland and an Honorary Doctorate from Memorial University for excellence in music education and lifelong service to the arts. Each initiative of the Graham Academy celebrates and supports the continuation of a different aspect of fifty years of Dr. Graham’s teaching in Corner Brook.

WHAT MEMBERS HAVE TO SAY

Layla has truly BLOSSOMED as a performer at the young age of 5 (almost 6)! Each time I see her on stage my mind is blown and I am so so grateful that she has this opportunity to explore her passions and enjoy the warm embrace of her musical theatre family.

     -Nancy Buckle, Layla’s mom

OUR LOGO

When we debated the right logo for the Graham Academy we wanted something that represented where this organization is rooted. For many of us who sat in school choirs or took private lessons with Gary, his handwriting on the chalk board or our dictation books was distinct, terrifying, and endearing.

Many young students can be heard referring to Mr. Graham as ‘Mr. G’ and/or affectionately referring to him simply as “G” as they enter adulthood.

With all of this in mind we decided on a logo that’s primary focus is that of ‘Mr. G’ or ‘G’. What better way to brand an academy dedicated to growing his legacy and inspiring generations to come than with the penmanship of the man himself?

Andrea Barrett snuck into a piano lesson and requested Mr. G write out the words GRAHAM ACADEMY plus several dozen letter ‘G’s that we then sent to graphic designer Jeremy Osmond at J.Osmond Design. Jeremy then converted the handwriting into a variety of different graphic images that we spent a month debating.

Once we found ourselves arguing about the bottom twig on the corner of a letter ‘M’ we knew we were just about there. A few finishing touches from Mr. Osmond and here we are, the official logo of the Graham Academy.

We are so excited that this logo will pay tribute to the education, excellence and inspiration embodied by our very own Mr. Graham.

We hope this is something our whole community can feel very proud of.

OUR WEBSITE

For more information on the Graham Academy, please visit our website.